Feb
17
9:00 AM09:00

BIBLE360: Intro to the Bible - St Pauls Ipswich

bible360.jpg

BIBLE360: Introduction to the Bible

A one-day (9-3.30pm) introduction to the Bible for people of all ages and backgrounds.

It offers a place to start the adventure of reading the Bible or to pick up the journey again if it has been a while.

The seminar provides:

  • · An opportunity to engage with others
  • · An understanding of the history of the Bible
  • · The basic information needed to read the Bible with confidence
  • · A brief overview of the Old Testament and New Testament
  • · Practical tips on choosing a Bible and other resources
  • · Help to get started with a personal Bible reading plan.

Just bring a pen and your lunch (or buy it nearby) and you’re good to go! Morning tea is provided.

Thousands of people around the diocese (and the world!) have done this program. Now it's your chance!

View Event →

Dec
2
10:00 AM10:00

Ordination of Deacons and Priests

2017 deacons.jpg
Priests 2017.jpg

The Archbishop has much pleasure in announcing that, God willing, he will ordain as deacons and priests the following candidates on Saturday 2 December 2017, 10 am at St John’s Cathedral.

Deacons: Ms Deborah Bird; Ms Zoë Browne; Ms Rosemary Gardiner; Mr Peter Jeffrey; Mr Stephen Monsiegneur; Dr Timothy Nicholson; Ms Bronwyn Pagram; Dr Debra Tedman

Priests: The Rev’d Karen Allen; The Rev’d Christopher Bate; The Rev’d David Browne; The Rev’d Jamee-Lee Callard; The Rev’d Heather Dearden; The Rev’d Pauline Harley; The Rev’d Rebecca King; The Rev’d Peter Deng Mayen; The Rev’d Dr Imelda O’Loughlin

View Event →
Nov
28
5:30 PM17:30

Reading with Spiritual Eyes Book Chat

  • Roscoe Library, St Francis College (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS
Reading with spiritual eyes plain image.JPG

The Roscoe Library's book club, Reading with Spiritual Eyes, invites you to join our discussion of The Barrier by Shankari Chandran.

"War, disease, biotechnology and religion intertwine in a gripping near-future thriller.

Twenty years ago an Ebola epidemic brought the world to the edge of oblivion. The West won the war, the East was isolated behind a wall, and a vaccine against Ebola was developed. Peace prevailed. Now Agent Noah Williams is being sent over the barrier to investigate a rogue scientist who risks releasing another plague. But why would a once-respected academic threaten the enforced vaccination program that ensures humans are no longer an endangered species?

Hunting for answers amid shootouts, espionage and murder, Noah will have to confront a fundamental question: In the fight for survival, can our humanity survive too?

Set in the year 2040, within a complex, volatile political climate that is wholly immersive and unnerving, The Barrier is a blazing, fast-paced thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Matthew Reilly; with the subversiveness of John le Carre. But also, one man’s story of overcoming grief in order to recapture his faith."

Please register for catering and set-up purposes.

 

 

View Event →
Nov
25
9:00 AM09:00

BIBLE360: Intro to the Bible - Dalby

bible360.jpg

BIBLE360: Introduction to the Bible

A one-day (9-3.30pm) introduction to the Bible for people of all ages and backgrounds.

It offers a place to start the adventure of reading the Bible or to pick up the journey again if it has been a while.

The seminar provides:

  • An opportunity to engage with others
  • An understanding of the history of the Bible
  • The basic information needed to read the Bible with confidence
  • A brief overview of the Old Testament and New Testament
  • Practical tips on choosing a Bible and other resources
  • Help to get started with a personal Bible reading plan.

Just bring a pen and your lunch (or buy it nearby) and you’re good to go! Morning tea is provided.

Thousands of people around the diocese (and the world!) have done this program. Now it's your chance!

View Event →
Nov
18
9:00 AM09:00

FAITH360:Praying in Anglican Ways - St John's Cathedral

  • St Johns Cathedral - Darnell Room (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS
faith360_logo_COLOUR.PNG

FAITH360:Praying in Anglican Ways - St John's Cathedral

A practical workshop about forms of Anglican spirituality and prayer. It's happening in the Darnell Room! Facilitated by Jonathan Sargeant!

This all day workshop (9am-3.30pm) written by the Revs Penny Jones and Jo Inkpin enables participants to ponder their own spirituality and the methods of prayer and worship that can enhance relationships with God. Discover deep Anglican wells of spiritual practice that provide resources for faith today! In this workshop, participants will:

  • Explore ideas about spirituality. Just what is it anyway?
  • Think about the Anglican forms of spirituality
  • Examine their own spirituality towards identifying a helpful life-enhancing profile
  • Learn about the history and form of Anglican spiritualities that have enlivened our church, as well as individuals/groups associated with them
  • Have a chance to practice different forms of prayer and worship associated with these Anglican spiritualities
  • Come to value the enormous breadth of spiritual resources available to us in the Anglican Church
  • Think about developing a 'rule of life' to enhance our faith formation into the future

All you need is a pen and your lunch.

View Event →
Oct
29
3:00 PM15:00

Valedictory Eucharist

18 October 2017 large.JPG

Sunday 29 October at 3.00pm in the Chapel followed by refreshments on the lawn.  We welcome Archbishop Phillip, who will preach and preside.  Congratulations to all who have completed their studies.  May God bless your path ahead.   

View Event →
Oct
24
6:30 PM18:30

SFC Open Night

Curious whether studying theology, the Bible, church history, Hebrew, Greek, or a related area is the right next step for you? Come and see for yourself!

If you want to get a taste of what it’s like to study at St Francis College, why not join us next Tuesday night for one of our open mini-lectures?

Come to Lecture Room 1 next to the Admin block and enjoy a complimentary supper and refreshments and take the opportunity to chat with current students and staff. If you come a little earlier, you can take a tour of the campus from 6pm.

The evening will include:
- Sample mini-lectures that provide a glimpse of our teaching areas
- Information about study, costs and course options
- Open time for Questions and Answers
- A relaxed event where you can meet staff and students

Whether you come with a friend or on your own, one of our friendly staff will be more than happy to meet you and answer any questions.

Enquiries: contact the Academic Dean, Peter Kline, on 3514 7418 or email pkline@ministryeducation.org.au

100_4386.jpg
View Event →
Oct
19
5:30 PM17:30

Book Launch: Passion for Nothing

  • St Francis College - Lecture Room 1 (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS
Book Cover.jpg

Come celebrate the launch of Peter Kline's book, *Passion for Nothing: Kierkegaard's Apophatic Theology.* Neil Pembroke, Associate Professor of Christian Studies at the University of Queensland, will launch the book. There will copies of the book for sale, wine and cheese, and some of Peter's art will be on display. The event will take place in Lecture Room 1 at St Francis College, from 5:30-7pm on Thursday, October 19th. 

"Peter Kline’s remarkable and innovative book stands at the forefront of a dynamic new horizon in theological readings of Kierkegaard. Moved by passion and unknowing, Kline elucidates the mystical dimensions of Kierkegaard’s existential vision with sophistication and profound creativity. This is a vital reading transfigured by the longing for a God whose gift exceeds our grasp—a longing in which Kierkegaard’s theology lives, breathes, and loves." - Simon D. Podmore, Liverpool Hope University

“Peter Kline is not only a first-rate scholar of Kierkegaard – with seemingly exhaustive knowledge of his texts and the inner workings of his thought – he is also a “repetition,” a student, writing poignantly of his passion for the apophatic [God] and the works of love that this apophasis births. His lucid, winsome prose invites readers to enter Kierkegaard’s radical vision – while his conclusion incites readers to embrace the artistry of the self reduced to nothing.” – Wendy Farley, San Francisco Theological Seminary

View Event →
Oct
7
to Oct 8

Brisbane Open House + Community Spring Fair

4 Oct 2017.jpg

Brisbane Open House
Saturday 7 October 10am - 4pm
Sunday 8 October 11am - 4pm

Tour local historic treasures Old Bishopsbourne (1868) and the Chapel of the Holy Spirit (1912)
Free tours each day at 1pm, 2pm and 3pm

 

As well, St Francis College, the School of Philosophy Brisbane and Milton-Auchenflower Anglicans invite you to join us for a...

Community Spring Fair
Saturday 7 October 10am - 4pm

Devonshire teas, plants, cakes, sausage sizzle, face painting and more

Walk the Labyrinth too!

 

And also at St Francis College,

Noosa Camino - art in the Chapel
Saturday 7 October 11 am

Artist Lindsay Farrell will speak about his Noosa Camino series of paintings, currently on display in the Chapel of the Holy Spirit. “Camino” (Spanish for “the way”) denotes a pilgrim walking route. Noosa Camino is a series of images and reflections developed while walking in the Noosa National Park.

Noosa Camino.JPG
View Event →